/Algonquin Highlands council sworn in 
Members of the 2018-2022 Algonquin Highlands council are from left Ward 2 Councillor Lisa Barry Ward 1 Councillor Julia Shortreed Mayor Carol Moffatt Ward 2 Councillor and Deputy Mayor Liz Danielsen and Ward 3 Councillor Jennifer Dailloux. /CHAD INGRAM Staff

Algonquin Highlands council sworn in 

By Chad Ingram

Published Dec. 6 2018

“I’m honoured to have the opportunity to continue to be mayor of this amazing community” said Algonquin Highlands Mayor Carol Moffatt as the township’s new council was sworn in during its Dec. 4 inaugural meeting. This term will mark the sixth term of council of the amalgamated Township of Algonquin Highlands meaning Moffatt who was acclaimed to her third term as mayor in the Oct. 22 election has led half of them.

“The public has placed in us its faith that we will make good useful decisions and even though some of those decisions won’t be popular the most important thing is to keep the conversation going for a greater two-way understanding of any issue” Moffatt said. “ . .  Our decision-making here is based on common sense that includes ensuring the outcomes are fair beneficial and for the greatest good – not the greater good the greatest good.”

The mayor said council’s greatest challenge would be to continue balancing the needs of the township’s three distinct communities.

“I want us to challenge the status quo and if we find along the way that we’re the status quo then we need to challenge ourselves to be better to do more and to think differently” Moffatt said.

Councillors read their oaths of office and members re-elected Ward 2 Councillor Liz Daniselsen to again serve as the township’s deputy mayor. It will be the third term that Danielsen who will also be Haliburton County warden for 2019 has held that role.

Other members of council include Ward 2 Councillor Lisa Barry also entering her third term and newcomers Julia Shortreed in Ward 1 and Jennifer Dailloux in Ward 3.

The new Algonquin Highlands council is one of just a few all-female municipal councils elected in Ontario’s history.