/MH, AH 2022 election rundown

MH, AH 2022 election rundown

By James Matthews
While Minden Hills voters already know who their mayor and deputy mayor are, the race for Algonquin Hills’ top office is a two-horse race.
Three of the four mayors of all four Haliburton County municipalities have opted for greener pastures away from municipal politics.
Minden Hills’ new mayor and deputy mayor will be acclaimed Aug. 22 when the nominations are certified and made official.
The period for nominations across the province closed Aug. 19.
There are few incumbent candidates and there are a handful of one-horse races county-wide.
The electoral outcome will translate to a new-look county council after the final votes are cast Oct. 24. Advance voting will take place Oct. 14.

In Minden Hills, Bob Carter is the only candidate for mayor. He’s the current representative of Ward 1.
Incumbent Lisa Schell is the only name on the ballot to be the township’s deputy mayor.
There’s a two-horse race between Tammy McKelvey and Trevor Chaulk for councillor-at-large duties.
Hoping to replace Carter in Ward 1 at the council table is Ivan Ingram, Shirley Johannessen, Richard Bradley, and Mike Grozelle. That ward has two representatives because of its geographic size.
“The decision was made during the 2001 amalgamation process,” said Minden Hills deputy clerk Vicki Bull in an email. “Ward 1 is comprised of the former geographical township: Anson, Hindon and Minden. Two Councillors are elected to represent the larger area.”
Ward 2 incumbent Pam Sayne is campaigning against neophyte candidate Stephen Hertel for the seat.
Bob Sisson was the only candidate for Ward 3.
In Algonquin Highlands, Mayor Carol Moffatt decided not to ink her name to the ballot this go-around. Candidates in the mayoral contest are current Deputy Mayor Liz Danielsen and Mike Lang.
Incumbent Julia Shortreed is the candidate for Ward 1. Lisa Barry, Amber Meirik, Napier Simpson, and Sabrina Richards are looking to be the voice in Ward 2. Jennifer Dailloux is the only name to come forward for Ward 3.