/July 27: last day to run for council 

July 27: last day to run for council 

By Sue Tiffin

Published July 26 2018

This is the last week for prospective candidates to file their papers for nomination and get on the ballot in the 2018 municipal election. While at press time some positions will see a race other candidates – including both the mayoral positions in Algonquin Highlands and Minden Hills – look to be heading toward acclamation in an uncontested election.

In Algonquin Highlands:

Mayor: Carol Moffatt (incumbent)

Ward 1 Councillor: David Lawson Julia Shortreed

Ward 2 Councillor (two spots): Lisa Barry (incumbent) Liz Danielsen (incumbent)

Ward 3 Councillor: Jennifer Dailloux

In Minden Hills:

Mayor: Brent Devolin (incumbent)

Deputy-Mayor: Lisa Schell

Councillor at Large: Ron Nesbitt (incumbent) John Teljeur

Ward 1 Councillor (two spots): Clayton Cameron Jennifer Hughey Jean Neville

Ward 2 Councillor: Mike Grozelle Pam Sayne (incumbent)

Ward 3 Councillor: Russ Duhaime

School Board Trustees:

English Public: Gary Brohman (of Haliburton)

French Public: Sylvie Landry (of Pickering) Anna-Karyna Ruszkowski (of East York)

Nominations have been open since May 1. Candidates have until 2 p.m. on July 27 to file their papers and run for a position on council or as a school board trustee. The municipal election will be held on Monday Oct. 22 this year. For further information visit municipal websites at algonquinhighlands.ca or  mindenhills.ca.