/Moffatt files papers in AH 

Moffatt files papers in AH 

By Chad Ingram

Published July 12 2018

There will be a couple of more names on the ballot in Algonquin Highlands for the Oct. 22 municipal election.

Mayor Carol Moffatt has filed nomination papers to reclaim her seat. Moffatt has served two terms as head of Algonquin Highlands council acclaimed each time. Prior to that she served a term as councillor for Ward 2 the former Stanhope township.

Moffatt is so far the only mayoral candidate.

In Ward 3 Oxtongue Lake and area Jennifer Dailloux has filed papers to become councillor and at press time was the only person filed to run in the ward. That seat is currently held by Councillor Marlene Kyle.

In Ward 2 Councillors Lisa Barry and Liz Danielsen have each filed nomination papers to reclaim their seats. Two councillors are elected for the ward.

In Ward 1 Dorset and surrounding area Julia Shortreed is running for councillor. At press time she was the only candidate in that ward that seat currently held by Councillor Brian Lynch.

In Minden Hills Mayor Brent Devolin is seeking a second term as head of council and longtime Ward 1 Councillor Lisa Schell has filed papers for the deputy mayor position.

Jennifer Hughey Clayton Cameron and current Ward 3 Councillor Jean Neville have filed nomination papers for Ward 1. In Ward 2 Councillor Pam Sayne has filed papers to reclaim her seat contested by Mike Grozelle and in Ward 3 at press time Russ Duhaime remained the sole candidate.

John Teljeur is running against current Councillor-at-large Ron Nesbitt.

The nomination period ends at 2 p.m. on July 27.